Programme of Events

Updated 29th June 2019

The programme is subject to change.

Note: the Google calendar previously used for club events is no longer updated. 

Regular club meetings are usually held on the 3rd Thursday of every month at Brandeston Village Hall (IP13 7AD), but note that some meetings are on other days.

Please arrive by 7:15 for a prompt start at 7:30.  New members always welcome - just come along and say hello. Click on the above Village Hall link for directions.

 

2019 dates - some still provisional

Subject to change - check before each event!

Thursday 10th January - Beginners and Improvers Session 1.  These sessions are aimed especially at new and improving photographers, but hey, we're all improving!  (Jim and Nigel)

Thursday 17th January - Club Night. Open Print Competition. No external judge, workshop style. Assessments based on set of criteria. (Jim/Simon)

Monday 28th January 7pm for 7.30pm start - Tripod with Stowmarket and Wymondham at Stowmarket (Hillside Community Centre IP14 2BD).  8 print, 8 DPI  (Co-ordinator tba)

Thursday 21st February - Club Night. Practical session on a particular subject. Bring camera and tripod, and come prepared to do a bit of shooting outside. Warm clothes would be a good idea!  (Nigel/Jim)

Thursday 21st March - Club Night. Speaker Gillian Allard.  Gillian is a profession photographer, and won the 2017 Sky Arts "Master of Photography" award.  Her photography is wonderful (see https://gillian-allard.com/gallery) and she will be talking about her work.  (Simon)

Thursday 4th April - moved to 2nd May: Beginners and Improvers Session 2.  (Jim/Nigel)

Thursday 11th April - Tripod with E. Ipswich/Halesworth at Framlingham, judge will be Mike Lloyd from Beccles CC - 8 prints and 8 DPIs from each club (arranged by Halesworth).  (Co-ordinator tba)

Thursday 18th April - Club Night. Print Competition (Open). Judge to be arranged.  (Co-ordinator tba)

Thursday 2nd May - Beginners and Improvers Session 2 (moved from 4th April).  (Jim/Nigel)

Thursday 9th May - Club Night (moved from 16th). Walkabout, venue tba.  (Co-ordinator tba)

Thursday 16th May - Tripod with Bungay and Beccles, at Beccles - 15 prints from each club.  (Co-ordinator tba)

Thursday 20th June - Club Night. DPI Competition (Open). Judged.  (Co-ordinator tba)

Thursday 4th July - Beginners and Improvers Session 3.  (Jim/Nigel)

Thursday 18th July - Club Night. Print Competition. Non Judged.  (Co-ordinator tba)

Thursday 15th August - Club Night. Walkabout - Framlingham Castle and Mere, Meet 7pm New Road carpark (just behind Café 221B). Bring camera, batteries, tripod, torch, etc and lots of enthusiasm.  (Co-Ordinator = Nigel)

Thursday 5th - Saturday 7th September - Annual Exhibition in the Unitarian Church, Framlingham.  Set up on Wednesday.  (Cara + everyone else to help!)

Thursday 19th September - Club Night. Print Competition (theme: "Street").  Up to two colour and two black-and-white as usual; this was incorrectly labelled as black-and-white only originally, sorry for that. Judged.  (Co-ordinator tba)

Thursday 10th October - Beginners and Improvers Session 4.  (Jim/Nigel)

?? October - Tripod with Woodbridge/Wickham Market (provisional, all details to be confirmed)

Thursday 17th October - AGM and Barton Cup.

Thursday 14th November - Club Night. DPI Competition (theme: "Golden Hour"). Judged.  (Co-ordinator tba)

Thursday 21st November - Guest speaker: Ruth Grindrod.  Ruth is a terrific landscape photographer based in Norfolk.  Some of her wide range of work can be seen at https://ruthgrindrodlandscapephotography.co.uk/galleries/.  (Co-ordinator tba)

December - Christmas Dinner, to be arranged.

More details soon!

2020 - some provisional dates

Wednesday 29th Jaqnuary - Tripod with at Stowmarket (Stowupland Village Hall).  8 print, 8 DPI