Programme of Events

Updated 16th March 2020

*** Our programme has been suspended ***

Following the advice of the Prime Minister's briefing today (16th March 2020) concerning Corona Virus, we are suspending our programme of face-to-face events for the time being. 

We shall consider if we can arrange any remote events by email or by web conference, and perhaps when the advice is clearer in the coming weeks or months it may be possible to arrange out-door photoshoots away from densely populated areas, provided this can be done within current health guidance. See updates on the News page.

Many apologies for any disappointment.

The programme is subject to change - check before each event!

Regular club meetings are usually held on the 3rd Thursday of every month at Brandeston Village Hall (IP13 7AD), but note that some meetings are on other days.

Please arrive by 7:15 for a prompt start at 7:30.  New members always welcome - just come along and say hello. Click on the above Village Hall link for directions.

2020 programme

Thursday 9th January - Beginners/Improvers session 1.  These sessions are aimed especially at new and improving photographers, but we're all improving and there's usually something useful for everyone. 

Thursday 16th January - Alan S Workshop on image evaluation

Wednesday 29th January - Tripod with Stowmarket and Wymondham at Stowmarket (Stowupland Village Hall), 7pm for 7.30pm.  8 print, 8 DPI

Thursday 20th February - Club night - practical Thursday 20th February - Club night - practical ::   Come along with your camera, and if you have polarising filters for your lens bring those with you also.  If you have a tripod that may be handy to have with you also.  The evening will be split between some practical activity prior to our break looking at polarised light images and focus issues, and then we shall delve into some example workflows with one or two popular image processors after our break.  

Thursday 19th March - Speaker - Chris and Karen Coe: "Visual Story Telling".  Chris and Karen founded and run Travel Photographer of the Year.

Thursday 2nd April - Beginners/Improvers session 2

Monday 6th April - TBC - Tripod with E Ipswich / Halesworth @ Fram (judge:Mike Cowling)

Thursday 16th April - Print Competition (open subject), judged

Wednesday 13th May - Tripod with Bungay and Beccles at Bungay. 15 prints from each club.  (Judge: Andy Swain)

Thursday 21st May - Club night - walk about (TBA)

Thursday 18th June - DPI Competition (open subject), judged.  Note: we now ask for entries sized to 1920 x 1200 pixels.  See Submitting DPI files

Thursday 2nd July - Beginners/Improvers session 3

Thursday 16th July - Club night, members image critique.  Bring along prints and we critique each other's work (constructively!).

Wed 19th - Sat 22nd August - Exhibition (dates and details to be confirmed)

Thursday 20th August - walk-about

Thursday 17th September - Print competion (themed, judge: Andy Swain)

Thursday 1st October - Beginners/Improvers session 4

Thursday 15th October - AGM and Barton Cup

Monday 2nd November -Tripod with Woodbridge and Wickham Market, hosted by Fram at Brandeston.

Thursday 12th November - DPI Competition (themed), judged.  (Entries sized to 1920 x 1200 pixels - see Submitting DPI files). 

Thursday 19th November - Speaker:  Harry Read, talking about his photographic wild adventures.  See https://www.harryreadphotography.co.uk/ for a taste of quite how wild some of his adventures are!

December - Christmas supper - TBA